"Come and listen…and I will tell you what He did for me." Ps.66:16

Let the Popping Begin!

Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.  (Psalm 62:8)

It wasn’t my regular Monday morning routine.  Seven inches of snow covered the ground. I opted for a later start to my day.  First stop, the post office.   Two books and a gift needed to be mailed.

The books were easy.  Stuffed them in mailing packs, completed the required paperwork and off they went down the mail chute and on their way to Canada and Australia.

Next in line – the gift for Susan.  Not so easy – as it was a Pig Popper Think Nerf type toy in the shape of a pig that shoots out fluorescent lime green ping-pong balls from its mouth. Do I know how to pick gifts for my girlfriends or what?  ( I might need to start re-thinking my gift giving talents, hire a personal shopper or I may be looking for new girlfriends!)  I know – a weird gift for a girlfriend – but to get the why of such a whacked gift – you will have to read Susan’s book Farm Days.  Trust me. You’ll get it!

I needed to come up with a way to protect the Pig Popper so that it wouldn’t get crushed or broken in transit.  I scanned the shelf finally picking out an extra Pig Popperlarge bubble-wrapped-lined-envelope.  Addressed the envelope.  Stuffed the Pig Popper into the envelope, head first of course!  And down the mail chute it traveled to take up residency in Illinois.

As I tromped my way through the snow to the car, I couldn’t help but think how much I was trusting the bubble-wrapped-lined-envelope to protect the precious cargo – an envelope that cost a couple of bucks.

I opened the car door to a beeping phone, signaling an unread message. Grabbed my phone.  Glanced at a message from Susan, hesitating to read the message in full as I wasn’t quite ready to go there. I knew it was a response regarding a message that I sent as I was struggling BIG time through her Bible study – Pure Emotion  Just saying, it’s not an easy study nor a pretty study for me!  It’s a challenging study and I’m not even through week one!

I don’t like ‘dealing’ with anything that mentions the word emotions.  I don’t like talking about emotions.  I don’t like expressing emotions – unless of course, it’s all the good ones  – love, joy, peace, calmness, happiness, kindness  – just to name a few. Those I can do!

The kicker is – I don’t like to cry!  I don’t like for my friends to see me cry!  I don’t like to hurt! And I don’t like my friends to know I’m hurting.  I don’t like having conversations where I might loss control of my emotions!  I usually avoid them at all costs – especially if they involve conflict! (I know – a lot of exclamation points and don’t likes in that paragraph – just trying to keep it real!)

As I dredged my way through four days of week one of Pure Emotion – which took me two weeks to complete – the following lines caught my attention:

“Our emotional responses can make us vulnerable.”

“Emotions expose us.”

“Subdued emotions help us maintain control.”

“Consider that feelings might not reflect the reality of a situation.”

OUCH!!   Those four lines summed me up and what I didn’t like about emotions.  Susan’s words popped several layers of  bubble wrap – bubble wrap surrounding my heart – bubble wrap that needed popping!  Layer after layer of protection allowing me to “stuff” and “hide” emotions deep in the crevices of my heart – only to seep out during the most inopportune times – with seep out – usually meaning blow-ups down the road on some unsuspecting soul!  Emotions that I had not yet yielded to God.  Emotions that I needed to yield to God. And yes, some emotions that I still need to yield to God.

So how does one pride-filled individual tell her friend that she doesn’t like talking about her emotions because of her lack of trust?  Her lack of trust in God . . . Her lack of trust in her friend . . . Her lack of trust in herself?

One doesn’t – or maybe I should say – this one didn’t – until God spoke to me through the bubble-wrapped-lined envelope!  As I reflected on stuffing the  Pig Popper in the envelope, I realized that I needed to trust God with my emotions like I trusted the bubble-wrapped-lined-envelope to protect the Pig Popper. I needed to trust Susan.  And I needed to trust myself.

His Word tells us in Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.  I needed to lean into God’s understanding.  I needed to submit my ways – my thoughts – and most of all my emotions – to Him. I needed to obey God. I needed God to take my crooked ways and make them straight. Flat out – I need to trust God with all areas of my life – including my sometimes crazed emotions.

Not sure about you, but I am so thankful that I am a work in progress. Progress – not perfection. I am not where I should be – but I’ve taken those first couple of steps forward or as Susan replied to my post, “Hard to put in print, but the first step in growing – in faith! God wants us to yield EVERY area of our lives. Including emotions.”  So won’t you join me in yielding our emotions to God?  Yielding our emotions in such a way that honors and glorifies God?  Yielding in such a way that our trust increases in Him, our faithful friends and ourselves?

Father God, thank You for the gift of forgiveness. Thank You for making us in your image – emotions and all.  Forgive us for “hiding” our emotions from you.  Forgive us for “stuffing” our emotions.  Forgive us for not trusting you with our emotions like we should. Fill us with Your courage and boldness to yield to You – to yield EVERY area of our lives to You.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Share the most whacked out  gift that you’ve ever given to a girlfriend and why for a chance to win one of three copies of Farm Days or Pure Emotion – your choice!

Comments on: "Let the Popping Begin!" (27)

  1. First of all, I think you are awesome sauce! Thank you for being one of the greatest encouragers I know. You are doing some great work for God, girl!
    Secondly, I am a cry-er. and sometimes wish I could refrain from doing so. Still need emotional help from the Father! 🙂
    Thirdly, most whacked-out gift? I gave all my girlfriends smiley-faced romper pjs at our beach get-away one year… they thought I was crazy. Oh, I guess I am. 🙂 Why? cause I love them, of course!

    • I want smiley-faced pjs! But would settle for a trip to the beach! Thank you for always speaking and pouring His truth into others – including me! Love your heart ,….love your ministry …. and love you!

  2. Oh Donna I love this…simply because I can relate all too well!! I’ve been one to hide my emotions, the good and the bad. God currently has me reading thru the book I wrote and just yesterday read about this very thing…my fear of shedding tears, but then my mentor doing the very thing I was afraid to do. With that God started to shed light on the lie I’d believed – “The more people know about me, the less they’d like me.” Her actions helped me see that by hiding my emotions I was hiding the work God was doing…

    Granted I have a long ways to go, but like you say we are works in progress. Let’s keep moving towards improvement, allow Him to pop our bubble and shine His light! Blessings to you!!

    And as far as a whacked out gift – I sent my friend, actually the mentor I talk about above, a turkey beard in the mail! It totally freaked her out! Why? My husband is a turkey hunter and my son liked the beards. He told Leanne about them on the phone, she shared she’d never seen one before…my little guy couldn’t believe it and then insisted on sending her one!!

    Blessings to you today my friend!!

    • I too have a long long way to go. Thankful for Susan, Pure Emotions and her willingness to walk me thru this journey always pointing me to Him. I wanna read your book!

      And I thought a Pig Popper was whacked ….. WOW on the turkey beard! I think I would have been a bit surprised on the receiving end of that one too!

      Have a great Easter!!

  3. Donna,
    I love this post! You are just so real and so easy to relate too! Pure emotions sounds like an amazing study and I cannot wait to do it once I have finished pure growth! I can’t think of a really silly gift I have ever sent a friend but I just wanted you to know how much I enjoy reading your posts! Thank you for sharing your heart!

    Blessings,
    Kristen

  4. I like to be sneaky. I like to bless the socks off people. Last summer we went to Hawaii with the family and I saw some pretty cool, crazy socks and had to send them to a friend’s husband. She got Kona coffee straight from the island, he got the shark bites on his toes. I have shipped fresh pineapples to a friend’s mom. Kidnapped a friend and taken a midnight convertible ride through the country for “mental rejuvenation” and counseling. I like to be “thoughtful, with a twist”. Can I be a twisted sister, too? Love you Donna B.

    • Love your sneakiness Theresa!!! And I love how your friends “tell on” you because you are so humble that most don’t know what you’re up to!! And yes, you too are a twisted sister!!! Love you back!!!

  5. Wacky gift? Why, a roll of tp, of course.complete with a bow!

    • I totally forgot about being on the receiving end of the wacky gift!! How does one forget a roll of toilet paper wrapped in a gold metalic bow!!! Especially with it being a most needed gift! Thanks for the laugh!!!!

  6. wendyblight said:

    Love, love this and love you!!! You are so incredibly creative and find the most fun ways to bring God’s truth alive and make it easy to relate to. Thank you for teaching a spiritual truth by putting a picture on it that I will never forget.

    Blessings,

    Wendy

    • Thanks so much Wendy! Not too sure if I would be here doing this without all of the encouragement, support and prayers of you, Renee, Melissa, Micca, and Susan Lawrence. Hope you have an amazing Resurrection Sunday with your family. Love ya.

  7. Love this post!! I have seen you posting on this Pure Emotion Study, and I had to look into it. What I found was the one area I don’t want to go and that is dealing with my emotions one on one, especially the ones from my past. Like you, I am really, really good stuffing until gets overloaded and then comes the explosions! It is either someone who it need not to be or I am somewhere were I don’t want others to know. As much I as would to run from this, I know I can’t so winning one of the books would be great! I don’t have friends, because I have moved so much in my and also because of trust issues. So I try to not get to close to many people. God is working on me thought. 🙂 God Bless

  8. This is not a whacked out gift, but I will share still. I have a horrible fear of flying so much so that I have yet to make it to New York to see my best friend 😦 This past Christmas she sent me an ornament of an airplane and she had the whole thing personalized…so much so that she wrote the name of the airlines as “Trust Jesus Airlines” and she put a verse about fear on it…it was so clever and cute!!!

    • I loved the gift. My whole Christmas tree is directed with ornaments that friends have blessed me with! I love the “Trust Jesus Airlines” written on it too! What a memory!

  9. I love your posts. You have such a way about bringing God’s word alive and well I do so love pigs. 🙂 sharing emotions is not something I do well with. Unfortunately my eyes usually give me away. My most unusual gift was a moonshine candle from my sister-in-law. 🙂

    • I need more details as to what a moonshine candle is …. I’m assuming it smells like moonshine! Thanks for always being so encouraging! And those little popper things come in cows and all other kinds of critters.

  10. Good morning on this Good Friday!! For all that have posted a comment above, I will send you a book of your choice!!! But I need you to do three things for me ….

    1) Go to Susan Lawrence’s website …. http://purepurpose.org/resource-specials/ and pick out a book of your choice.

    2) Email me at dfbostick@yahoo.com with your choice and your shipping address and

    3) Go to Susan’s FB ministry page https://www.facebook.com/#!/PurePurpose?fref=ts and hit the “Like” button!!

    You will love any of her books ….even Pure Emotion …. I do because I know God will use it for His glory in my life!!! And you will love her FB Page and if you up to ….

    Bonus round if you like …. follow her blog by signing up at purepurpose.org. \

    HAPPY EASTER!!

  11. Another great blog post. Love your honesty.
    Blessings and love
    Nicki
    PS. Should I be expecting something in the mail?!

    • Nicki!!!!

      Happy Easter as you should be celebrating BIG about right now! Thanks for your encouraging words….. miss you …. and unfortunately no on the package …. I was mailing a couple of A Confident Heart books out for Renee and her upcoming study.

      Miss ya and love you!

  12. Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing the other person’s weblog link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

  13. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring
    to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  14. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told used to be a amusement account it.

    Look complicated to more added agreeable from you! By the way,
    how could we keep up a correspondence?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

