"Come and listen…and I will tell you what He did for me." Ps.66:16

“See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” (I John 3:1, NIV)heart love

I am the proud and sometimes not so proud momma of two very spoiled wiener dogs – Charli and Sam who are sometimes affectionately called Fric and Frac, Thing 1 and Thing 2, Dumb and Dumber and sometimes by names that shouldn’t be repeated here depending on what they have been up to in my absence.

Well, at night they sleep with me in the bed. Charli on the left. Sam on the right. Not sure how they determined who was going to sleep where – but that’s how they roll and sleep at night! Or I should say we sleep at night. (No judging – pet food is my livelihood and I know that I’m not the only one who allows their pets to sleep in the bed with them. Just sayin. And I’ve been told confession is good for the soul. So consider me fessed up!)

Our morning ritual goes a little like this : the alarm goes off, I wake up, I begin stirring around, stretching and then kicking the covers off. And as I stir, Charli slithers up from the foot of the bed towards my face on her belly and plants her wet nose in my face followed by let’s just say some nasty dog breath and a lick to the face. (And no, I am not fond of licks in the face at 5am, 6am or really anytime! Don’t get me wrong – I love my dogs … I just don’t like dog kisses or licks in the face.)

 CharliThen she rolls over on her back and whines until I rub her belly! Yes, whines! And then I rub! And then Sam comes bounding through the covers and fights for his share of belly rubs and attention. So I end up with two puppies sprawled on their backs, eight legs straight up in the air with one hand on Charlie and the other on Sam frantically rubbing their bellies like a crazed woman!

 As I rubbed their bellies this morning, I thought how nice it would be to have my belly rubbed by God. Yep, I said it – I sometimes want God to rub my belly or I would even settle for a pat on the head from God. Just thinking that it would be nice to have that physically touch by God – that physical touch of just knowing that He’s there – that physical touch of reinforcement of His love – that physical touch of knowing that I am loved by an amazing God – that physical touch from God assuring me that everything is going to be okey no matter what I’m facing that day – that physical touch of His assurance that He is right there beside me.

And then God whispers one word to my heart and to my ears – lavish! Don’t you love that word? He lavishes us with His love – just as Charli and Sam lavish me with their love – God lavishes us with His love – in our hearts where it lingers and where it is needed every second of every day! What an amazing and incredible thought! God lavishes us with His love NO MATTER WHAT! There is nothing we can’t do or can do that will ever change the fact that God loves us NO MATTER WHAT!! I love that thought and that promise from my Abba, Daddy! How about you?

And not only does God lavish His love on us, He is always with us. God is there with me, not only is there with me in my bedroom, but He is with me wherever I go. And trust me – I go all over the place. Matthew 1:23 states, “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”). God may not be rubbing our bellies or patting us on the head, but He is definitely with us and definitely loves us with His unfailing love.

Lord, thank you for lavishing us with your love and your presence. Create in us a sensitivity to your presence and to your love. Cause us to love others as you love us. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Comments on: "I Want My Belly Rubbed . . ." (4)

  1. Donna, you are so creative. What a beautiful post!! I loved it. You put a great big smile on my day today as you reminded me how much God loves me.

  2. Wendy, Thank you so much!! I wasn’t quite sure how others would react, but it was something that God kept putting on my heart and mind every morning for the past few weeks! If I only approached God and His throne of grace with the same level of love that He pours out onto me.

    Love ya!

  3. Makes me miss my Chelsea whose belly I loved to rub!! God’s lavish love truly is the greatest gift. I just want to be like Sam and Charli, willing to snuggle up close and rest by God’s side the way they love to be by yours!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

