"Come and listen…and I will tell you what He did for me." Ps.66:16

I am so excited to welcome my first guest blogger ever!!  And am so blessed that Jamy Whitaker said “yes” to the ask!!!  So please welcome Jamy, my Jesus sista and friend.   I had the privilege and honor of meeting Jamy face to face at She Speaks this year and feel in love with her heart for Jesus,  her realness and just how she does every day life.  Not only is Jamy an amazing Jesus sista, her new book Get Real – Stop Hiding Behind the Mask was released last week.  And I feel in love with the title as my one word for 2012 is  REAL.   And how many of us live behind masks?  In Get RealJamie shares with us how to Get Real, take off our mask and be the woman who God has created each of us to be without fear.

And I so get her message that she shares below in her post – Rejected or Chosen as I lived the majority of my life with the word rejected tattooed across my heart and it was not pretty.  Love how Jamy shares with us how we can make the choice to replace the label of rejected with the label of CHOSEN and the  love of God as His Daughters – Daughters of the King of Kings!  

And I really know you will enjoy that you have a chance to win this book just by commenting on this blog post. Read to the end for details.

Rejected or Chosen?

If only love were as easy and cut and dry for adults as it was when we were little children. Then, it simply consisted of passing a note, “Do you like me? Check yes or no.” After getting a response, the two of you were considered a couple. However, as an adult, it is not always that easy, and there is certainly the risk of being rejected any time we put ourselves out there.

Rejection is certainly not a new concept to anyone. If we are honest, we have all had to deal with rejection of one kind or another at one point in our lives. The rejection could have been from a boyfriend/girlfriend, job application, friends, family; the list could go on and on. Jesus even dealt with rejection during His ministry, “He came to that which was his own, but his own did not receive him” (John 1:11 NIV). Jesus knew the pain of rejection from his own community. So, He can identify with the pain that we feel when others reject us. The wounds of rejection can go deeper and last longer than other injuries. When faced with the pain of rejection, we each have a choice to make. Will we be consumed by it or take captive the thoughts that are destructive and replace them with God’s truth?

Our worth as an individual is not determined by our circumstances or even by the choices we make. We are deeply loved by God. In fact, we are chosen by God, “You are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praise of him who has called you out of darkness into his wonderful light” (1 Peter 2:9 NIV). How amazing that we are chosen by God. It does not matter what the world says about you or me because we know our identity is not the mask that everyone sees. No, it comes from God, and He loves us and has chosen us from the very beginning — never forget that.

When others may reject us, God is there for us and will never leave us. There are several descriptions of God’s love for us throughout the Bible. However, there are two that stand out in my mind. The first one is seen in Romans 5:8, “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (NIV). This simply means that God’s love for us does not depend upon anything we will ever do, which leads to the greatest aspect of God’s love for us, “neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:39 NIV). We are guaranteed to have trials and difficulties in this life. However, as believers, we can be certain that nothing can separate us from the love of God. That promise brings so much comfort to me.

When our foundation is based on God’s love, we are free to be ourselves. He loves and accepts us for who we are. Knowing that our identities are locked into Christ, it is easier to reach out and love those around us, not worrying whether they will accept and love us.

As long as we are living, we are each going to have to deal with rejection from time to time. However, we need to see it for what it is in light of God’s unending love for us. So, no matter what others may think or say, you are not rejected; you are chosen and loved by the almighty God. Nothing and no one can ever take that from you. Share this hope with someone who is feeling lost and rejected around you this week.

We should not cover up or hide the frame that God has given us. It is unique and has a purpose. Celebrate that God has uniquely created you for His plans for your life.

If you would like more information about your true identity in Christ, I encourage you to read my book, Get REAL: Stop Hiding Behind the Mask. For more information be sure to check out my website, www.jamywhitaker.com, or my facebook page, www.facebook.com/AuthorJamyWhitaker.

I would love to give away a copy of my book to one of Donna’s readers. You will receive one entry for commenting on my post. You will earn additional entries for “liking” my author page on facebook and subscribing to my blog.  I will announce the winner this Friday.

Blessings to all,

Jamy

Thank you so much Jamy for sharing your heart with us today.  And thanks to all who are visiting with me today.  Don’t forget to leave a  comment on Jamy’s blog so you can have a chance to win her book and take off your mask and leave it off!

Comments on: "Get REAL! Stop Hiding Behind the Mask" (16)

  1. […] I have the privilege to guest post on my friend, Donna Bostick’s blog, https://donnabostick.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/get-real-stop-hiding-behind-the-mask/. I would love for you to head over to her site and read my post for some encouragement about being […]

  2. Jamy, I just loved this blog. And what I dread the most about rejection is that it can stop you in your tracks. If we don’t learn to deal with it we can be a person who exists only in the flesh and the “fear of rejection” prevents us from “putting ourselves out there”.
    And the hardest rejection of all is being rejected because of being a Christian and not having the biblical answers to back up the decision.
    So I will try better to take captive mu thoughts and replace them with biblical truths.

  3. Debbie Williams said:

    Loved, loved this article Jamy and thank you Donna Bostick for having her over so all of us could be blessed today. Haven’t we all felt that rejection at times and even today if we let ourselves. In those moments I remember to focus on whose I am and what I am to Him! If I am pleasing Him, I am being the best wife, the best mother, the best daughter, the best daughter-in-law, the best sister and sister-in-law and the best friend. Thank you God for molding me into a person that is striving to please you and not man!!

  4. This is so true! I can’t wait to read Jamy’s book.

  5. I love this, thank you! It feels like while I’ve come so far in accepting God’s love for me, I continue to get roadblocked by my fear of acceptance from others. I know I am fearfully and wonderfully made, yet I worry about not measuring up to others’ standards of who they think I should be. This is an area I am working hard in, trying to figure out who it is that God has created me to be and having the courage to be bold in my faith.

  6. I love this post and I think this book sounds amazing! I think everyone can relate to this book! Thank you Jamy for sharing your story!

    I liked your Facebook page and subscribed to your blog the other day, does that count? 😉

  7. Thank you for sharing. I need to become who God made me and stop hiding behind the mask.

  8. Barbara Prince said:

    What an uplifting thing to read this afternoon. I can not tell you how easy it is for me to fall back into a place of feeling rejected and unwanted, even when I know what the Word of God says about it. How grateful I am for the Body of Christ that encourages me and all of us to believe what God says about us. Thank you for you heart and your obedience to Christ and to us.

  9. Ladies, thank you all for sharing your hearts in the comments. I am glad that this message is reaching out and touching so many. Be who God made you to be. He loves you just as you are – never forget that.

  10. Diane Oesterle said:

    I’m so looking forward to reading this book! My mask has been on so long I forget what I really like…

  11. Thank you for sharing such powerful truths with us today. Knowing our identity in Christ truly transforms us from the inside out. In the past, I have experienced rejection in friendships and allowed it to wreck me. Learning my identity is not in a certain “circle” of friends but in Christ and Him alone has helped me to deal with this kind of rejection. It may hurt for a time, but I am able to let go and move on. I learned this powerful truth from a godly mentor…REJECTION is PROTECTION. I have seen it over and over again. God knows what is best, and I trust him.

    Thank you, Donna, for inviting such a gifted and wise first guest blogger.

    Blessings,

    Wendy

  12. “How amazing that we are chosen by God.” !!!!! This simple sentence really spoke to me, Jamy. All by itself, this simple truth reveals an incredible truth that we can build our lives on. This is the thought I’ll carry with me, how comforting and affirming it is. Thank you! Blessings!

  13. sound like a great book that I need to read.
    thank you for share it with us.

  14. It has taken many years for me to deal with rejection. After having polio at the age of 15 months you can imagine the rejection that I’ve experienced from other kids in grade school and high school. This world tells us this lie that we must live up to a certain standard in order to be expected, but God tells us that we are daughters of the king and that we need to live like it! The scars I bear on my legs are “badges of honor” as my husband chooses to say. Christ bore the nails for me so I can spend eternity with Him and believe me when I say “One day people one day when I get there…I will take you all in a race!”

  15. Jamy, thank you so much for the post. It is very humbling to realize that even Jesus was not accepted in his hometown, but that He shows us that we need to perservere in our ministry and realize that we are worthy. Just because He loved us enough to die for all of our sins! Can’t wait to read your book! And thanks to Donna for having you as a guest blogger!

    Blessings!

  16. Sounds like a great book i definitely need to read. I’ve been wearing so may different masks for so long that I’m at a point in my life that I want to be only who God intended me to be.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

