"Come and listen…and I will tell you what He did for me." Ps.66:16

“Fear not,  for I have REDEEMED you. I have called you by name.  You are mine . . . you are precious and honored in my sight. . . . because I love you.” (Isaiah 43: 1b, 4)

A coupon clipper – I am not!  A coupon clipper being one, who sits, clips and collects coupons from the Sunday ads, magazines, websites or wherever else they can be found and spends hours organizing them.  I don’t have the patience or the desire to do the tedious work behind it all.  It’s just not the way I’m wired.

I would rather be spending my Sunday afternoon working on my nap or sitting with friends enjoying lunch.  Not sure why I don’t like it – it could be the fact that I am not task oriented or the fact that I get box after box of coupons delivered to my home that I apply to bags and bags of pet food, Monday through Friday of every week.  We use the coupons to entice customers to buy our product over our competitors.  We also leverage them like cash to buy prime real estate within our stores so more of our product can be displayed and purchased.  The higher the coupon value – the better the real estate acquired.

And there seems to be a bazillion different types of coupons:  store . . . manufacturer .  . . .  free standing inserts . . . brand specific . . . item specific . . . buy one – get one free . . . e-coupons . . . mobile . . . and my favorite – IRC’s – Instant Redeemable Coupons (the little stickers that you find placed on products that you gently pull off and hand to the clerk as you check out  – no clipping required.  And most have the words “SAVE NOW” printed across the front of them and contain a value of dollars off with purchase.

As I visit my local grocery store and remove items from my cart, one by one, and place them on the little black conveyor belt at the check-out, I do remove the “SAVE NOW” coupon from my grape juice and hand it over to the clerk standing at the register and think of God’s Instant Redeemable Coupon – the blood of Jesus. No clipping required.  No exchange of money necessary.  Jesus picked up the tab with His life. He paid our debt in full!

John 3:16-17 tells us, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.”   Now, that’s my kind of “SAVE NOW” coupon!  And the value – PRICELESS!  And the cost – EXTREME! Extreme for God – It cost Him His one and only Son. Our cost – belief!

Have you redeemed your “SAVE NOW” coupon?  Have you redeemed it’s for full face value?  If so, are you willing to share the results with others?  God chose us. God redeemed us. God adopted us. He paid the price for us.  God made us for a purpose – His purpose.  We are stewards of everything He has given us – are you willing to share what He has given you – the gift of eternal life with others?  Are you willing to be used by Him?  My hope and prayer is that you will say “yes” to sharing the redemptive work of the blood of Jesus with others – no clipping required.

LORD, thank You that no clipping is required. Thank You that it only requires belief.  Help my unbelief.   Thank you for redeeming me.  Thank you for adopting us into Your family.  Thank you for paying the ultimate price – the death of Your Son on that cross for my sins.  Thank You for that shed blood.  Cause us to love others like You love us.  Fill us with your courage to share.  Help us to share this amazing gift that You so freely gave us so that others may have eternal life and have it abundantly.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

