"Come and listen…and I will tell you what He did for me." Ps.66:16

A twofer . . .

“One who was there had been an invalid for thirty-eight years.  When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, “Do you want to get well?”  “Sir,” the invalid replied, “I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred. While I am trying to get in, someone else goes down ahead of me.” Then Jesus said to him, “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk.”  At once the man was cured; he picked up his mat and walked.  Later Jesus found him at the temple and said to Him, “See, you are well again.  Stop sinning or something worse may happen to you.”.  (John 5: 5-9, 14)

A twofer …. and I missed it!!  Not once – but several times.  One can only guess as to how many times I have read and re-read this portion of John – but only to have missed it.  And probably would have missed it again if not for the influence of speaker and author Lisa Whittle.

And you have to love God’s timing!  I had registered months ago to attend a Women’s Whole Conference to hear Lisa Whittle and Lisa Harper speak.  And you guessed it!  Saturday morning’s devotion by Lisa Whittle was all wrapped around John 5 – the exact same chapter reading for Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Study group!

The twofer mentioned by Lisa . . .  a physical healing and a heart healing.  The first healing – the physical healing came when Jesus ordered the man to get up, take his mat and walk.  Obedience and healing came instantaneously – no questions asked. No physical therapy needed after thirty-eight years of being crippled.  No meds needed after thirty-eight years of illness.  And did you catch the fact that the water was no longer needed for the healing?  The dip in the pool forgotten.  It was the man’s faith in Jesus that had healed him physically.

The second healing – the spiritual healing was mentioned later in the day, as Jesus comes across the same man in the temple and called out the condition of his heart publicly by not only reminding him that he was well but that he needed to stop sinning.  Ouch . . . BIG Ouch !  Can we say Truth Teller??  Jesus knew that the man needed God’s forgiveness – a heart healing –  more than he needed a physical healing.   Jesus risked His identity – His very life – when He spoke to the man publicly about the condition of his heart.   In front of the Pharisees – the same Pharisees that were looking to kill Him.

The rest of the story is unknown.  We are never told if the man accepts Jesus’ gift of forgiveness – the greatest healing of all.  I would like to think so, since he went about testifying to the Pharisees and to others what Jesus had done for him.  And we know that Jesus doesn’t want to leave us where He finds us – spiritually or physically.  And I am all about the happily ever after endings!

This we do know – we do know that Jesus gave His life so that we could experience life to its fullest!  He gave His life so that we could experience a heart healing.  He gave His life so that we could not only receive forgiveness, but give forgiveness and give it freely.

In the book of Matthew,  Peter questions Jesus about how often we should forgive others and Jesus responds,  “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.” (Matthew 18: 23).  So what’s the condition of your heart?  Have you experienced the gift of God’s forgiveness?  Who needs to be on the receiving end of your forgiveness? Are you willing to forgive others seventy-seven times?

My hope and prayer is that we have all been on the receiving end and the giving end of God’s forgiveness.  That we have all received God’s gift of forgiveness.  The greatest gift of all!

Lord, I praise You and I thank You for spiritual and physical healing.  I thank You for caring about the condition of our hearts.  I thank You that You desire for us to live a full life in You.  A life of forgiveness and a life of forgiving others.  Fill us with your courage to forgive those who have harmed us. Thank you for the gift of forgiveness in the death of Jesus.  Thank you for sacrificing your Son so that we might have life and have it abundantly and eternally.  In your Son’s name.  Amen.

Two healings – two book giveaways!

I will be giving away two copies of Lisa Whittle’s book “{w}hole”.  Share your comments below to enter to win.

Comments on: "A twofer . . ." (19)

  1. Donna, this is so good. Thanks for the reminder that it is not just a physical healing that is needed, but also a heart healing. Keep writing, you are doing an amazing job bringing the words to life.

  2. mix.williams@sbcglobal.net said:

    Donna thanks for this article this morning. The first thing I opened up. I woke up and lay there this morning thinking about Him and how He healed me spiritually. I was just laying there saying joy, joy, joy and humming a song that I can’t remember who wrote it with the words “I AM”. Thank you for reminding each of us that He is in the business of healing our whole lives – whatever we might need.

  3. Thank you so much for this – it was waiting in my inbox this morning and exactly what I need to hear today 🙂

  4. TIna Parnell said:

    Thanks for sharing your insight.

  5. Hey Donna! I have read that verse many times and have never seen what you pointed out. Thank you! I love the way God is using you to bless so many!

  6. Catherine said:

    Donna, I love the way you right. Physical healing is awesome but heart healing that is way beyond awesome.

  7. Jen Konie said:

    What a great lesson! I never realized what was being said even though I’ve read and heard it multiple times. You’re blog is a treat to read and I look forward to reading what you share!

  8. I missed it too! Thanks for pointing out the heart healing as well as the physical!

  9. I know in my heart that I have received the gift of God’s forgiveness. But, in my head, I have a hard time accepting His gift and forgiving myself. Something I am definitely working on.

  10. I always liked a two-fer! I didn’t notice both the physical/spiritual encounters as I read this chapter last week. Also, your writing seems to reveal new layers and perspectives to me. Jesus risked his life to speak to the man about his heart. And Jesus gave his life to save my heart. Thank you Jesus!

  11. I missed the part about the physical and heart healing, also. Thank you for explaining that to us, Donna. The one thing I struggle with is forgiveness, when someone hurts you and they don’t care. But I do understand that I do need to work on that, because that’s what Jesus did and I need to be more like him. Prayers, please!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

