"Come and listen…and I will tell you what He did for me." Ps.66:16

Leftovers . . .

“. . . and the master of the banquet tasted the water that had been turned into wine.   He did not realize where it had come from, though the servants who had drawn the water knew. Then he called the bridegroom aside and said, everyone brings out the choice wine first and then the cheaper wine after the guests have had too much to drink; but you have saved the BEST til now.” (John 2:9-10)

NO judging please ….. just sayin’ I am not too fond of leftovers!  Notice the words – not too fond!!  Doesn’t say I won’t eat them …. it just says they’re not my favorite!  I do like some leftovers ….but after that fourth cup of vegetable beef soup … I’m done!  Grilled chicken breast is probably my favorite ….as I like to take it and throw it in with some spinach, strawberries, blueberries, glazed pecans and a little goat cheese with a blush vinaigrette dressing and I am good to go!!!

While reading about Jesus’ first miracle of turning the water into wine, John 2:10 caught my attention;  “Everyone brings out the choice wine first and then the cheaper wine after the guests have had too much to drink; but you have saved the best till now.”   Jesus not only turned water into wine for the guests.  Jesus turned the water into the BEST wine!  We’re not talking the cheap stuff, we’re talking the high dollar wine that is stored in the cellar for the guest of honor that only comes out on special occassions.

As I was thinking about Jesus turning the water into wine –  the BEST wine, I began to  wonder what was I serving Jesus during my quiet time?   Am I giving Jesus my best or am I giving Jesus my leftovers?  Am I savoring my time with Him or am I just giving Him that last little crumb of time that I have?  Is He getting my undivided attention or is He getting my interruptions?

And what gives me the right to think that Jesus likes leftovers?  I think I’ve been making some pretty big assumptions on my part – some pretty BIG wrong assumptions!!  I bet Jesus doesn’t like leftovers anymore than I do nor does He complain about them as I often as I do.

Unfortunately for me, I know there have been times where I’ve served Jesus leftovers.  I’ve given him a crumb here and a crumb there. Usually bigger meals only when I wanted something back in return.  And the worst part – there have been meals where I’ve served no dessert  – no ‘thank you’s’ for His faithfulness, for His provision, for His grace, for His sacrifice,  for His love – no nothing!

So won’t you join me in giving Jesus the meal He deserves?  A meal fit for The Guest of Honor. A meal fit for The Head of the Table. A meal fit for The King of Kings.

Lord, I praise You and I thank You that you don’t serve me your leftovers.  I praise You and I thank You for sending your very BEST to die on that cross for my sins.  Forgive me when I serve you leftovers in return.  Cause me to give You my first fruits, my very BEST of who I am in You. Then cause me to serve You the best of the best desserts ever – a heart of thankfulness for all that You do.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Who needs a copy of “Unglued”?  I’ve got an extra!  Leave a comment and I will be happy to get it in the mail to you!

Comments on: "Leftovers . . ." (16)

  1. I would love to have this copy for my daughter who has 2 little girls 2 and under! Thanks.

  2. Oh Donna….. no more leftovers for Jesus.. thank you for writing this and bring it front and center in my life….

    A humble and hopeful Amen…

    “Lord, I praise You and I thank You that you don’t serve me your leftovers. I praise You and I thank You for sending your very BEST to die on that cross for my sins. Forgive me when I serve you leftovers in return. Cause me to give You my first fruits, my very BEST of who I am in You. Then cause me to serve You the best of the best desserts ever – a heart of thankfulness for all that You do. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

  3. Gulp…I am one of those that gives Jesus my leftovers at certain times in my life. Great analogy. I am definitely joining you in giving Jesus the meal He deserves. No more leftovers!

  4. Wow You hit me on that one, a little prayer here a lot of asking for things but first fruits, the BEST man am I off. I remember a time when I was thankful for everything need to get back to that. I need this book and what it has to teach someone like me. I need to get back to giving HIm my best and thanking Him for EVERYTHING.! Thanks Donna for the encouragement.

  5. Donna, this is so good. We need to be certain that we are giving our BEST to God and not just what we have left or what we are willing to give up.

  6. Another powerful blog Donna. Thank you again and thank you Jesus for using your girl. There have been many years when Jesus didn’t even get leftovers – just nothing – no water, no bread, not even a hello. So, I need to get back on the wagon and start cooking!

  7. Chelle Renee said:

    That is some good stuff. No more leftovers

  8. Great insight, Donna! It nailed me too. Good food for thought!!!

  9. I would love to have a copy of this book! I cannot wait until this study starts! 🙂

  10. Debbie S - Calgary AB said:

    What a excellent devotional. Yes, I guess in the light of this, we do tend to give leftovers after a long day!!!! Thank you for sharing your insights. 🙂

  11. Hello❤ I am desperate for a copy of Unglued ❤
    I have a problem with buying books due to currency difference❤Rand /dollar ❤❤❤❤❤❤❤
    I don’t like a cold winter morning so I lie in bed and do my morning Bible study, this is too cosy and sometimes I rush through just to get that little extra sleep, I’m sure, I know summer time is better, I get up, sit properly at my desk and really study, one good, blessed part of my day is when I put a little 2 year old down for her afternoon nap, I am sure to get 2 hours of quality,quiet time— time enough to read “Unglued”, God Bless U 2 ❤

  12. Hilda Quintanilla said:

    Donna!!! What a great exhortation!!! The Lord spoke clearly to my heart, and has caught my full attention! I must change! There are days I invite Him to feast on crumbs, and even days I invite Him only for a short visit – only to hear me out, and send Him back with an empty stomach! Not even leftovers! Love you!

  13. Denise Glenn said:

    Thank you so much for sharing your story with all of us Donna!! My heart has been stirred today to let the fruit of His Spirit fill me as I go through the health challenges I’m facing. I’m hanging on tightly as He goes with me through each test and surgery I need, I have to admit I’ve done some screaming of my own along the way. I am reminded as I read your and Miccas stories and my heart is encouraged. Thank you!!

    But God…
    He is the great physician. 
    He is our very present help in trouble. 
    He is our rock. 

    Blessings in Christ
    Denise Glenn

    PS Would love to win Miccas book 😀

  14. Lynda Parker said:

    Donna, I am loving your blog! I LOVE YOUR POSTS! No more leftovers for me! Well, I can’t even say that, because I know I’ll do it again! But I will be much more aware now! Thank you!

  15. Thanks for this post Donna, well said and thought provoking. No more left overs only the best for Jesus.

  16. Hey,

    Chelle Renee, you won the copy of “Unglued”!! Send me your address and I will get one in the mail to you!

    I also just want to thank everyone for your comments and your support! God has me on this amazing journey…. not sure where He’s taking me, all I know is that it’s my responsibility to obey and follow. Love you guys and am so blessed to have you here!!!

    Blessings and more blessing,
    Donna

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

